Fellowships and Awards

ISHA Fellowships

2022 Programme – Applications Now Closed

ISHA International Travelling Fellowship

Due to the global Covid-19 pandemic our successful 2020, 2021and 2022 Travelling Fellows are hoping to be able to plan their postponed programme during the current year.

2020 Recipients

Dr Paul Haggis, UK

Dr Robert Lawton, UK

2021 Recipients

Dr Chris West, USA

Dr Carlos Arriaza, Guatemala

2022 Recipients

Dr James Barnes, UK

Dr Claudia Galletta, Italy

Applications for the 2023 programme, will open in December 2022, deadline for applications is 15 January 2023.  Access the link above to check on:

  • programme details
  • application process
  • eligibility criteria

For further information and application submission, please contact:


Hear from our ISHA 2019 Travelling Fellowship Recipients

Mr Pranai Buddhdev, UK

Dr Lee Ekert, Canada


Third-Party Fellowships

Title: American Hip Institute — Comprehensive Hip Fellowship

Location: Chicago, Illinois

Supervisor: Benjamin Domb, M.D.

Duration: One Year (4 positions)

Start Date: 8 August

Stipend: Up to $80,000 USD commensurate with PGY level www.ahirf.org/fellowship.html

Contact: DrDomb@AmericanHipInstitute.org

Title: Hip Preservation Surgery and Hip Joint Replacement

Location: Clínica Imbanaco - Grupo Quirino Salud Cali- Colombia

Supervisor: Bernardo Aguilera-Bohorquez

Duration: One year (2 fellows per year)

Start Date: 1st February and 1st August

Stipend: By negotiation

Contact: baguilera@imbanaco.com.co with copy to baguilera.asistente@imbanaco.com.co

Title: Thames Valley Hip Arthroscopy Fellowship

Location: Reading, United Kingdom

Supervisor: Mr Tony Andrade

Duration: One year

Start Date: By negotiation

Stipend: Proportionate to experience

Contact: tonyandrade@doctors.org.uk

Title: Core Fellowship (inclusive of core muscles & hip)

Location: Vincera Institute, Philadelphia, PA, USA

Supervisor: Dr William C. Meyers

Duration: One year

Start Date: Open

Stipend: Contact for more information

Contact: Nicole Curran, CEO Vincera Institute, (484) 326 – 0780, ncurran@vincerainstitute.com

Title: Hip Preservation and Replacement Surgery Fellowship

Location: Lyon, France

Supervisor: Dr. Nicolas Bonin

Duration: 6 months

Start Date: 1 May and 1 November

Stipend: Please contact

Contact: dr.bonin@lyon-ortho-clinic.com

Title: The 2022 – 2023 William H. Harris Career Development Award in Hip Preservation Co-sponsored by the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Washington University School of Medicine and the ANCHOR Study Group

Location: Participating ANCHOR sites: Washington University, Beaumont Hospital, BocaCare Orthopedics, Boston Children’s Hospital, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, CHU de Quebec-Université Laval, Hospital For Special Services, Mayo Clinic, Northwestern Medical Group, The Ottawa Hospital, San Antonio Military Medical Center, Stanford School of Medicine, Texas Children’s Hospital/Baylor College of Medicine, Scottish Rite for Children, Twin Cities Orthopedics, University of Colorado, University of Iowa, University of Michigan, University of Wisconsin, University of Utah, Vanderbilt University

Supervisor: Dr John Clohisy

Duration: 3 months

Start Date: Site visits can be consecutive or independent during the program year (August 2022 – July 2023)

Stipend: Please contact

Contact: https://az659834.vo.msecnd.net/eventsairwesteuprod/production-oaandgap-public/5d7a394438ef4df080c4fc8ce9ead32b

Title: Michigan State University/Spectrum Health Hip Preservation and Sports Medicine Fellowship

Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Supervisor: Dr Travis Menge

Duration: One year

Start Date: August 2022

Stipend: PGY-6 Level

Contact: Travis.Menge@SpectrumHealth.org


Award: Basic Science Trainee Award 2019

Name: Rintje Agricola (NL)
Femoroacetabular impingement syndrome is strongly predictive for development of hip osteoarthritis within 10 years follow-up: data from the CHECK cohort

Award: Richard Villar Award for Excellence in Clinical Research 2019 (trainee award)

Name: Roxana Viamont-Guierra (BRA)
Promising outcomes of hip mosaicplasty by minimally invasive anterior approach using osteochondral autografts from the ipsilateral femoral head

Award: Joseph C McCarthy Award for Achievement in Advancing Knowledge and Scholarship in Hip Joint Preservation 2019

Name: Mr Richard Villar (UK)

Award: Physical Therapy Research Awards 2019

Name: 1. Madison Morrish (AUS) - Trainee Award
The Australian patient experience: Part B - periacetabular
osteotomy intervention

2. Tim Tyler (USA) - Original Research
Rehabilitation following Groin Surgery

3. RobRoy Martin and Ryan McGovern (USA)
The effect of functional movement control on patient reported
outcomes in individuals with non-arthritic hip pain

Award: Basic Science Trainee Award 2018

Name: Keisuke Uemara (USA)
Three-dimensional Femoral Head Coverage in the Standing Position Represents that Measured in-vivro during Gait

Award: Richard Villar Award for Excellence in Clinical Research 2018 (trainee award)

Name: Pranai Buddhdev (UK)
Patient-Reported Outcomes & Success of Surgical Hip Dislocation in the Treatment of Residual Deformities Secondary to Perthes

Award: Joseph C McCarthy Award for Achievement in Advancing Knowledge and Scholarship in Hip Joint Preservation 2018

Name: Professor John O'Donnell (AUS)

Award: Physical Therapy Research Awards 2018

Name: 1. Ashley Campbell (USA)
Submission: Podium
Return to dance following hip surgery

2. David Georgy (Australia)
Submission: E-poster
Incidence of Gluteal muscle weakness in patients with
Femoroacetabular impingement syndrome

3. Emma Glynn (Australia)
Submission: E-poster
What is the prognosis of conservative versus non-conservative
treatment in Ischiofemoral impingement?

Award: Basic Science Trainee Award 2017

Name: Ryan Fader
The Role of Lumbar Lordosis and pelvic sagittal balance in femoroacetabular impingement.

Award: Richard Villar Award for excellence in clinical research 2017 (trainee award)

Name: William Neal
The Effect of Symptom Duration on Outcomes following Hip Arthroscopy for Fermoroactebular impingement syndrome

Award: ISHA Society lifetime achievement Award 2017

Name: Philip Noble

Award: Joseph C McCarthy Award for achievement in advancing knowledge and scholarship in hip joint preservation 2017

Name: JW Thomas Byrd

Award: Physical Therapy Research Award 2017

Name: Jenny Marland